Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m listening to the ocean’s waves as I write, but I won’t be truly happy until it’s reality. I’m going with my husband on an anniversary trip to the Pismo Beach area. Ahhhhhhh….I can hear the ocean calling my name tonight. I hear it on Dreamsurf: Ocean Waves, The Reflections, Nature, 2001 tonight, but tomorrow night, I’ll hear it live. And I say, “Ahhhhh…” again. I can hardly wait to feel cooler temperatures in the upper 60’s by day and lower 50’s by night. Tomorrow night, I’ll sit out on the balcony with my honey and a small blanket to watch the beauty of forceful waves spilling over each other to rush and greet us. We’ll use the binoculars to bring the stars, moon, and surf a little closer and enjoy the nice fire in the fire pit that dares to be put out. The next morning, I’ll gather sea shells and create something fun while my mind is lost to its tranquil surroundings. Then, we’ll chill with the fresh smells of the sea and the sounds of shrieking birds that float by while making “M’s” in the sky. This process of relaxation will be repeated over a few days and nights until we are mush.

More than likely, we’ll have company though. There will be classes on lifeguard training and surfing 101, volleyball tournaments, and children building castles and running around screaming at their kites.

I found a poem by Gussie Osborne that spoke to my adventure in relaxation.

I sat on the beach and a beautiful wave,
Came tumbling right up to me.

It threw some pink shells on the sand at my feet,
Then hurried straight back out to the sea.

It ran away swiftly and leaped up in a foam,
It bumped other waves in its glee.

I think it was hurrying to gather more shells,
To bring as a present for me.

I’ll take a few pictures as the waves take my stress, add it to the ocean, and return with relaxing sounds that make my body dissolve into the lounge chair. As I leave, the ocean will wave good-bye to me until we meet again next summer.

~Manelli Bochelli~

